23. Great Product Design

Other than brand name, what makes an iPod better than a Zune?

My answer is the iPod has beautiful product design. The two products have similar internal characteristics, yet you probably do not know what a Zune is or you have forgotten by now. Product design is essential to the sales of the product. Advertising will help sell a product, but often times design will be a difference maker between a consumer buying your product or your competitors.

I came across a few products that use design to help sell the product. Check them out and I hope you enjoy.

This YKM bag is genius I tell you. How awesome is the illusion it creates of a person jump roaping. I’ve never seen a shopping bag this creative before and had to share it.

This headphone company packages their product in a package that creates a face. I love this because it gives each product some funk and flair. The design doesn’t sell to me, but if I were younger I would be all about having these headphones.

I think that what Mulher did with their packaging for the watches they sell is cool. Each watch comes in a small box with half of the watch sticking out, which serves as a mini handle. This packaging design concept is innovative, as I have never seen something like this before. The packaging on this product would be a difference maker when it comes to the decision of whether or not to buy.

Panasonic did a great job packaging this set of headphones. I really like how they take the headphones and make a direct connection to music. It is simple, yet eloquent. Rather than taking a set of ordinary headphones and packaging them, Panasonic was curious about how they could ad flair to their product and did an amazing job.

Leave a comment